Friday, February 15, 2019

Stratomatic: 1920 Midwest League.

A while ago, 5 days ago to be exact, I decided to start a new stratomatic league. I thought it would be fun to pretend that is in 1920. Here are a list of the teams, and their owners, managers, and stadiums:
Team name                      owner                   manager              park
Des Moines Pioneers Stephen Lefebvre Mike Reed         Union Park
Kansas City Miners  Lary Stoddard       Roy Henderson C. Bennett Park
Tulsa Patriots          Michael Kemp       Bill Almon          Tulsa Stadium
Dallas Cowboys     Thomas Sutter        Robert Brown    Wiggins Field
Albuquerque Buccaneers Douglas Winters Dick James  Blue Sky Field
Oklahoma City Sherrifs  Daniel Martin Johnny Forster  Grant Stadium
Fort Worth Oilers   David Beard         Alvin Webster     A. Pinder Park
Wichita Mustangs  Mark Mason       Vance Cowens     Mustang Stadium

 I had a lot of trouble with the stadium names. Anyhow, what I'm doing is that I'm using real world stratomatic cards but I'm changing their names so it's completely new. There's not a ton of homeruns so it's a little more of a pitchers league. I've played 3 games so far between Wichita and Des Moines but I haven't done any others yet. Here is a brief account of each:

Game 1 Wichita 3 Des Moines 2
Wichita was up 3-0 until the bottom of the the 9th inning when Marius Shocker, Des Moines' Center Fielder, hit a double off Ken Williams. The next hitter grounded out but the one after that, Frank Shorten, the #5 hitter, hit a 2-run homer. After that, a out was made but Frank Murphy walked and then a pinch-hitter was inserted for Ray Vangilder, the Catcher, who struck out.
MVP: Frank Shorten, Des Moines, 1b, #5 hitter. 2-4 HR  2  RBI
W: Ken Williams 9 IP 6K 2R 9H 2BB
L: Johnny Crosetti 8IP 5K 3R 8H 4BB

Game 2 Des Moines 4 Wichita 2
Not as exciting as the 1st game.Wichita took a 1st inning lead of 1-0, but Des Moines scored a run in both the 2nd and 3rd innings and never looked back.
MVP: Frank Shorten, Des Moines, 1b, #5 hitter. 3-4 2 2B RBI 2 R
W: Atley Bonham 9IP 3K 2R 7H 2BB
L: Jack Moore 7.1IP 10K 4R 8H 2BB

Game 3 Des Moines 2 Wichita 1
Des Moines took a 1 run lead in the 2nd with a walk, single, and then a double by #8 hitter Joe Storm, Catcher. No one scored until the 8th when Wichita scored the tying run completely on singles!However, in the 9th, Frank Shorten, the 1st baseman, hit a double, and then the next hitter, Bill Wright, the 3rd baseman, hit a walkoff double!
MVP: Wally Davis, Wichita, SS, #1 hitter. 2-3 2b R E 2 SB
W: Marv Ruffing 1IP 2K 0R 0H 1BB
L:Steve Vuckovich 8.1IP 5K 2R 7H 2BB

Overall, I've been having a lot of fun with this. If you want to know, Chris Shorten was 1978 Tony Perez.

No comments:

Post a Comment